Skip to main content Skip to footer
Tennis' Kissell Named First Team All-Southern Conference

Stacia Kissell went 15-5 during her sophomore season earning honors from the SoCon.

April 14, 2014

Spartanburg, S.C. - Stacia Kissell became Western Carolina's first women's tennis player to earn First Team All-Southern Conference honors as voted on by the league's coaches and announced by the conference office Monday.

Kissell, who went 15-5 on the season at the No. 1 singles spot, becomes only the second Catamount to earn year-end league recognition and the first WCU player to earn first team honors. WCU's Tessie Salme was named second team at the No. 1 spot in 2008 after going 11-7 all at the top spot.

"I am proud of what Stacia has been able to achieve this year," head coach Michaela Kissell-Eddins said. "She has put in a lot of work on and off the court to put herself in the position to one the best players in the conference. She is a great example of what WCU women's tennis is all about the dedication it takes to be successful."

Kissell enjoyed an 11-match winning streak that lasted from February 16 through March 30 during the season en route to her WCU record 15 wins - a new overall and No. 1 singles record. Her 5-4 record in Southern Conference matches is also a new standard at the top position.

2014 SoCon Women's Tennis Postseason Awards
First Team
Brites Moniz-Soares, Davidson
Jordan Johnston, Elon
Ansley Speaks, Furman
Stephanie N'tcha, Samford
Kayla Jones, Chattanooga
Stacia Kissell, Western Carolina

Katherine Oudin/Alex Moreno-Kaste, Furman
Stephanie N'tcha/Kristen Lewis, Samford
Kaylene Chadwell/Alexa Flynn, Chattanooga

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 - Clare Cox, Appalachian State
No. 2 - Frida Jansaker, Elon
No. 3 - Yasmeen Ebada, Samford
No. 4 - Bryn Khoury, Elon
No. 5 - Emily Mallory, Samford
No. 6 - Blair Martin, Furman



Doubles (by position)
No. 1 - Jordan Johnston/Barbora Lazarova, Elon
No. 2 - Blair Martin/Ansley Speaks, Furman
No. 3 - Kelsey Coots/Claire Mulyadi, Chattanooga

Karlee Bryde, Furman
Ansley Speaks, Furman
Blair Martin, Furman
Giulia Riepe, Georgia Southern
Yasmin Franco, UNCG
Lauren Caballero, Samford

Player of the Year
Ansley Speaks, Furman

Freshman of the Year
Ansley Speaks, Furman

Sportsmanship Award
Audrey Coventry, Wofford

Coach of the Year
Debbie Southern, Furman