Skip to main content Skip to footer
Soccer's Kayla Beauduy Named Second Team All-Southern Conference

Redshirt junior Kayla Beauduy was named to the soccer Southern Conference Second Team.

Nov. 1, 2011

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Redshirt junior midfielder Kayla Beauduy was named to the 2011 Southern Conference Women's Soccer All-Conference Second Team by the league coaches.

The Jackson, New Jersey native played and started all 20 matches this season. Beauduy ranked third on the team in goals scored with three and was also tied for second in assists with three. She scored a game-winning goal in the Catamounts' 3-1 win over North Florida. In 2008, Beauduy was named to the inaugural Southern Conference All-Freshman Team.

Headlining the all-conference teams were four Samford Bulldogs, led by senior goalkeeper Alyssa Whitehead. Joining Whitehead on the first team were teammates Sarah Wilkinson at forward, Michelle Moll at midfielder, and Sabbath McKiernan-Allen at defender.

Furman senior forward Rachel Shelnutt was voted as the league's Player of the Year after scoring 12 goals and accumulating 27 points on the season. In conference games, Shelnutt's nine markers tied for the most in the league. This marks the sixth time a Paladin has earned the conference's top individual honor and the first since Anna Betton in 2007.

Davidson striker Becca Fisher became the fourth Wildcat in the past seven seasons to be voted Freshman of the Year after fashioning a rookie campaign where she scored seven goals and notched four assists to rank seventh in the league with 18 points. College of Charleston and Furman each placed two players on the first team, as the Cougars' Sarah Schaidle and Hannah Gmerek were joined by Shelnutt and freshman defender Ali Simpson from Furman.

UNCG forward Kristin Player, Chattanooga forward Donna-Kay Henry and The Citadel midfielder Vanessa Aponte also earned first-team distinction. UNCG led all schools with three players on the all-conference second team followed by a pair from Elon. The Spartans were represented by Karin Sendel, Stephanie Parternheimer and Kelsey Kearney while Elon's Olivia Mackey and Andrea Keller were cited as well.



Others rewarded with inclusion on the all-conference second team were Hope Atkinson (College of Charleston), Mariana Garcia (The Citadel), Sophie Newsom (Davidson), Jessica Smith (Furman), Becca Smith (Chattanooga) and Beauduy. The Coach of the Year award went to Samford head coach Todd Yelton.

Western Carolina ended its season on October 30 with a 2-1 loss to Samford in the quarterfinals of the Southern Conference Tournament. The Catamounts graduated just one senior, in 2011, and expect its full roster to return for 2012.