Skip to main content Skip to footer
McCallister and McKenna Named All-SoCon; Kilgore Named All-Freshman

Oct. 31, 2017

SPARTANBURG, S.C. -- Junior forward Megan McCallister, junior midfielder Sayres McKenna and freshman defender Maryanne Kilgore were honored today by the Southern Conference as the league announced its 2017 women's soccer all-conference teams and yearly award winners.

Both McCallister and McKenna were named to the SoCon second team. Kilgore was honored on the SoCon All-Freshman team.

It is the first time since 2008 Western Carolina women's soccer has had three players honored with post-season awards by the SoCon. Ironically, 2008 was also the last time WCU has made the semi-finals of the SoCon Championships prior the team reaching that pinnacle this season.

McCallister, from Asheville, N.C., has been a true catalyst for the Western Carolina club. She leads the team in almost every offensive category including pacing the team in goals (10) and points (25). She ranks second on the team in assists with five. McCallister's 10 goals this season is the most by a Catamount women's soccer player since Lauren Bramlett also scored 10 in the 2001 season. Her 10 goals also rank fourth in the Southern Conference. McCallister's 25 points tie her for third in the SoCon for the 2017 season and rank her seventh in the WCU record books. She has scored one game-winning goal and added five assists including the assist on Threatt's goal that gave WCU a 1-0 win over VMI and sent the Catamounts to the semi-finals of the 2017 SoCon Championships.

McKenna, from Wilmington, N.C., makes her second appearance on a SoCon postseason list. She was an all-freshman selection in 2015. In 2017, McKenna has four goals, five assists and a total of 13 points. All four of McKenna's goals this season have been game-winners. Her five assists on the year give her 18 in her career ranking her fourth in the WCU record books. She needs just three assists to move into third place and surpass Western Carolina Hall of Fame member Nardia Moore who ended her storied career with 20 assists.

Kilgore, from Jefferson, Ga., is the fourth straight Western Carolina women's soccer player honored on the all-freshman team. Previous honorees include Emily Threatt, McKenna, and Chandler Arrowood. Kilgore is part of the Western Carolina defensive backline that has helped the Catamounts win four of its last five games including the key 1-0 shutout of VMI in the quarterfinals of the Southern Conference Championships on Oct. 29.

Furman, Samford, UNCG and Western Carolina, the top four seeds, respectively, have advanced to the semifinals of the Southern Conference Women's Soccer Championship, which take place at Samford's Track and Soccer Stadium on Friday starting at 5 p.m. CT. Both matches will appear live on the SoCon Digital Network. The championship match will take place Sunday at 1 p.m. CT and will be aired on ESPN3.

2017 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team
Player of the Year – Jermaine Seoposenwe, Sr., F, Samford
Defensive Player of the Year – Allie Lourie, So., D, Samford
Coach of the Year – Andrew Burr, Furman
Freshman of the Year – Chloe Arnold, Chattanooga
First Team
F                Molly Dwyer, Furman
F                Jermaine Seoposenwe, Samford
F                Hayley Younginer, Wofford
MF             Rachel Shah, Furman
MF             Sanon Williams, Furman
MF             Kaitlyn Orman, Samford
D                Jordan Evens, Furman
D                Quinn Lombard, Furman
D                Emily Jensen, UNCG
D                Allie Lourie, Samford
D                Taylor Meneide, Samford
GK             Kellsey Weaver, Furman
Second Team
F                Eleonora Goldoni, ETSU
F                Abriella Argueta, Samford
F                Megan McCallister, Western Carolina
MF             Heida Vidarsdottir, UNCG
MF             Jordan Mueller, Chattanooga
MF             Sayres McKenna, Western Carolina
MF             Katie Beuerlein, Wofford
D                Megan Delmonico, Mercer
D                Regan Lehman, UNCG
D                Amy Horney, VMI
GK             Anna Maddox, Samford
All-Freshman Team
Sarah Connolly, ETSU
Mo Trnavsky, Furman
Sarah Adcock, Mercer
Ally Fordham, Mercer
Quiqui Hita, UNCG
Kaley Tucker, UNCG
Caroline Orman, Samford
Lexi Orman, Samford
Grace Sommi, Samford
Chloe Arnold, Chattanooga
Maryanne Kilgore, Western Carolina