Mike Williams Named All-District 22 by NABC

CATAMOUNTSPORTSDOTCOM Mike Williams earned second team All-District 22 from the NABC.
Mike Williams earned second team All-District 22 from the NABC.

March 9, 2011

Cullowhee, N.C. - Western Carolina senior guard Mike Williams was today named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division I All-District 22 team for 2011. The honorary squads representing 24 districts and a combined 245 student-athletes recognize the nation's best men's collegiate basketball players as selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC.

Williams and the other selections are eligible for the State Farm Coaches' Division I All-America teams, to be announced on Saturday, April 2, at 9:30 am (ET) at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston during the NABC Convention and NCAA® Final Four®.

Williams garnered second team All-District 22 honors, joining nine others from the Southern Conference including two selections apiece from the College of Charleston and Appalachian State. He joins former Catamounts Brandon Giles and Jake Robinson, who both earned all-district a season ago.

A native of New Orleans, La., Williams led the Catamounts with a career-best 15.4 points per game average through the SoCon tournament to rank eighth in the SoCon. He scored in double figures in 29 of the 33 games this year including 20-or-more points nine times this year.

He averaged 3.8 assists per game to rank sixth in the league, while his 2.0 steals per game average led the SoCon. His 67 thefts rank him fifth in WCU's single-season record books.

Most recently, Williams earned second team All-SoCon Tournament team accolades after averaging a team-best 19.0 points per game including a career-high 25 points in the semifinals against eventual tourney champion, Wofford.

NABC District 22
First Team
Noah Dahlman, Wofford
Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston
Cameron Wells, The Citadel
Donald Sims, Appalachian State
Amu Saaka, Furman



Second Team
Omar Wattad, Chattanooga
Jeremy Simmons, College of Charleston
Mike Williams, Western Carolina
Omar Carter, Appalachian State
Drew Spradlin, Elon

Shop st the Official
Online Store for