Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bryson Bowman Collects Second Postseason All-America Honor

June 14, 2017

Cullowhee, N.C. - Western Carolina senior outfielder Bryson Bowman collected his second postseason All-America honor on Wednesday, earning third team accolades from the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) on the organization's 22nd annual squads. Bowman was additionally tabbed third team by Collegiate Baseball back on June 1.

In addition, Bowman was named first team ABCA / Rawlings All-Atlantic Region. It is the second-straight year that Bowman has garnered first team plaudits from the ABCA.

Bowman was one of three Southern Conference players honored on the Atlantic team, joined on the first team by Furman RHP Will Gaddis and J.P. Sears, a RHP from The Citadel. They were joined by ETSU catcher Hagen Owenby on the South All-Region team first team.

Bowman, the Southern Conference Player of the Year, was one of two league players recognized as he was joined on the third team by the conference's top pitcher, J.P. Sears, of The Citadel. Bowman collected WCU's fifth NCBWA All-America selection all-time, and became the first Catamount to earn multiple selections.

Bowman, a native of Baton, N.C., became the 16th Catamount to win the team's Triple Crown, pacing the team in batting (.381), RBI (59), and home runs (11). Combined, he ranked inside the SoCon's top 10 in 10 statistical categories at season's end including leading the league in on-base percentage (.470), ranked second in RBI, third in the SoCon in batting average, tied for third in hits (83), and fifth in slugging percentage (.619). Bowman was also ranked in seven of the SoCon-only categories as well.

Including the season's first 42-games consecutively, Bowman reached base safely in 55 of the team's 56 games, collecting hits in 49 of those. He matched a program-record with a 27-game hitting streak, finishing the year with 23 multi-hit games.

Combined, 21 different conferences are represented with nine conference championship teams included. The three All-America squads are also made up of 14 conference players of the year, 12 conference pitchers of the year winners, and 12 first-round draft picks in the recent Major League Baseball Amateur Draft.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

WCU's All-time (NCBWA) All-America Selections:
1994: Jason Beverlin, P - 2nd team
2011: Ross Heffley, 2B - 1st team
2013: Tyler White, 3B - 3rd team
2016: Bryson Bowman, OF - 3rd team
2017: Bryson Bowman, OF - 3rd team

WCU's All-Time, All-Atlantic Region Selections:
1977 - Keith Ebersole (1st), Jerry Reed (2nd), Wayne Tolleson (2nd)
1978 - Wayne Tolleson (1st), Keith Ebersole (2nd)
1980 - Willie Carpenter (1st)
1986 - Pat Riley (2nd)
1987 - Clint Fairey (1st)
1989 - Clint Fairey (1st)
1990 - Grant Brittain (1st)
1991 - Kevin Bellomo (1st), Phillip Grundy (2nd), Matt Raleigh (2nd)
1992 - Joey Cox (1st), Matt Raleigh (1st), Dan Kyslinger (2nd)
1993 - Phillip Grundy (1st), Jason Beverlin (2nd)
1994 - Jason Beverlin (1st), Mike Manning (2nd), Mike Tidick (2nd)
1995 - Jody Henson (1st)
1996 - Alex Tolbert (2nd)
1997 - Alex Tolbert (1st), Jeremy Bruce (2nd), J.P. Burwell (2nd)
1998 - Martin Barrow (2nd), Mark DiFelice (2nd)
1999 - Steve Harris (2nd), Chris Moore (2nd)
2001 - Donovan Minero (1st)
2003 - Alan Beck (2nd)
2004 - Jared Greenwood (1st)
2005 - Steven Strausbaugh (2nd)
2006 - Steven Strausbaugh (2nd)
2007 - Kenny Smith (2nd)
2012 - Ross Heffley (2nd)
2013 - Aaron Attaway (2nd), Tyler White (2nd)
2014 - Adam Martin (1st), Cody Jones (1st), Jacob Hoyle (2nd), Bradley Strong (2nd)
2016 -- Bryson Bowman (1st), Matt Smith (2nd)
2017 -- Bryson Bowman (1st)