Skip to main content Skip to footer
Tyler White, Julian Ridings Named to SoCon All-Tournament Team

Tyler White (20) and Julian Ridings (4) were named to the SoCon All-tournament team following Sunday's championship.

May 26, 2013

Greenville, S.C. - Regular season champion and top-seeded Western Carolina landed two plays on the Southern Conference All-Tournament team which was unveiled following Sunday afternoon's championship game. Senior third baseman Tyler White and outfielder Julian Ridings were both voted to the all-tournament squad.

WCU was the only squad to put someone on the all-tournament team without advancing to the weekend games at Fluor Field.

White posted a .462 batting average in the three games the Catamounts played, finishing 6-for-13 at the plate with four runs scored and eight driven in. Five of White's six hits went for extra bases including three home runs and two doubles, matching then breaking WCU's single-season record for doubles. White belted a grand slam home run in the slugfest with The Citadel on the second day of the tournament.

All told, the Forest City, N.C., native amassed a 1.308 slugging percentage and a .533 on-base percentage, walking twice.

Ridings batted .455 at Fluor Field, finishing 5-for-11 with two doubles and a home run, tallying a slugging percentage of .909. He scored four runs scored and drove in three including one on a sacrifice fly. In the field, Ridings recorded nine putouts with one assist.

Western Carolina (39-20) awaits to see whether or not its complete body of work through 2013, including its red-hot finish to the regular season that saw the Catamounts win 21 of their final 24 games, will warrant the program's third at-large bid. The NCAA's "Road to Omaha" selection show is scheduled for Noon on Monday airing live on ESPNU. WCU last advanced with an at-large bid in 2007 after sharing the regular season crown.

All-Tournament Team
SP - Kyle Webb, Elon
SP - Justin Hess, Georgia Southern
RP - Dylan Clark, Elon
C - Joe Jackson, The Citadel
1B - Ryan Kinsella, Elon
2B - Hector Crespo, Appalachian State
SS - Antonio Alvarez, Elon
3B - Tyler White, Western Carolina
OF - Tyler Griffin, The Citadel
OF - Sebastian Gomez, Elon
OF - Julian Ridings, Western Carolina
DH - Bo Thompson, The Citadel



Most Outstanding Player
Joe Jackson, The Citadel


The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 67th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 26) are as follows:
Baton Rouge, Louisiana - LSU (52-9)
Blacksburg, Virginia - Virginia Tech (38-20)
Bloomington, Indiana - Indiana (43-14)
Chapel Hill, North Carolina - North Carolina (52-8)
Charlottesville, Virginia - Virginia (47-10)
Corvallis, Oregon - Oregon State (45-10)
Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (39-18)
Eugene, Oregon - Oregon (45-14)
Fullerton, California - Cal State Fullerton (48-8)
Los Angeles, California - *UCLA (38-17)
Louisville, Kentucky - Louisville (46-10)
Manhattan, Kansas - Kansas St. (41-17)
Nashville, Tennessee - Vanderbilt (51-9)
Raleigh, North Carolina - North Carolina State (44-14)
Starkville, Mississippi - Mississippi State (43-17)
Tallahassee, Florida - Florida State (44-15)

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at Noon (ET), Monday, May 27. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.