Skip to main content Skip to footer
Catamounts Sweep SoCon Outdoor Track & Field Championships

May 11, 2018

2018 SoCon Outdoor Track and Field Championship Final Results

Photo Gallery 

CULLOWHEE, N.C. -- Western Carolina swept the Southern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships at the Catamount Athletic Complex on Friday, with the Catamount men wrapping up their third straight title and the women their third in four years.

The Catamounts scored 214 points on the men's side to easily outdistance Samford, although the score was tight until late in the day Friday. Western Carolina put the hammer down with the title on the line, winning the last three men's events, including a podium sweep in the triple jump, taking the top two spots in the discus and erasing a 34-year-old conference record in the 4x400-meter relay.

All told, WCU won six men's events, with five of the coming on the final day to lift the Catamounts from third place after Thursday's opening day. Samford tallied 169 points to finish runner-up to the Catamounts for the second straight season. ETSU was third with 122, followed by The Citadel (110), Wofford (73), Furman (71), VMI (48) and UNCG (nine).

Western Carolina totaled 193 points to claim the women's title, knocking off defending champion Samford, which finished with 161. ETSU was third with 129, followed by Furman (120), Wofford (74), Mercer (49), VMI (46), The Citadel (30), Chattanooga (11) and UNCG (six).

The Catamount women and Samford were locked in a tight battle and tied at 145 points with three events left to score. A second-place finish in the 4x400-meter relay, coupled with Samford's fifth-place finish, put Western Carolina ahead to stay.

Alisha Blackmon and Simone Williams finished first and third in the shot put, respectively, and freshmen Makaila McIntyre and Autumn James went 2-3 in the triple jump to slam the door on the Bulldogs. Western Carolina's Devaniel Dale, Henry Kiedy, Chace Washington-Saunders and Dakota Lamont combined to erase a meet record that had stood since 1984. The quartet teamed up to run 3:09.06 in the 4x400-meter relay, knocking more than a second off the mark VMI had held for 34 years. The Catamounts won that relay for the eighth straight season.

Di'Joun Huitt led the podium sweep in the triple jump, as he was followed by Kevin Hires and Nicholas Lyons, while Mateius Brown and Scott Peretin were 1-2 in the discus. The title was the second in the event for Brown, who also won in 2016.

Western Carolina's Dasha Arnaut successfully defended both her 400-meter dash and 400-meter hurdle titles from 2017, while the Catamounts' Brown earned wins in the shot put and discus. Western Carolina's Kiedy won his second career men's 400-meter dash in addition to winning the 4x400.

Peretin and was honored as the meet's Most Outstanding Athletes for accumulating the most points. The Catamounts' Miles Greer and Lindsey Trotter were honored with the Pinnacle Award, which goes to the student-athletes with the highest GPAs on the championship-winning teams.

Men's results - Final
1. Western Carolina -- 214 points
2. Samford -- 169
3. ETSU -- 122
4. The Citadel -- 110
5. Wofford -- 73
6. Furman -- 71
7. VMI -- 48
8. UNCG -- 9

Women's results - Final
1. Western Carolina -- 193 points
2. Samford -- 161
3. ETSU -- 129
4. Furman -- 120
5. Wofford -- 74
6. Mercer -- 49
7. VMI -- 46
8. The Citadel -- 30
9. Chattanooga -- 11
10. UNCG -- 6

Men's Most Outstanding Athlete Scott Peretin
Men's Pinnacle Award (highest GPA on championship-winning team) Miles GreerWomen's Pinnacle Award (highest GPA on championship-winning team) Lindsey Trotter
Men's All-Freshman - Day 2
Decathlon Matthew Mudd
Shot put Mac Bennett

110-meter hurdles
Mike Jones

High jump
Tyler Hanks 

100-meter dash
Tyler Manigualt

Mac Bennett

400-meter hurdles
Mike Jones 

Triple jump
Tyler Hanks 

Women's All-Freshman - Day 2

Lesleigh Tabor

High jump
Jaelyn Warren
Autumn James

100-meter hurdles
Jaelyn Warren

400-meter dash
Dominique Delisser

Triple jump
Makaila McIntyre
Autumn James

Shot put
Lesleigh Tabor

200-meter dash
Dominique Delisser