Skip to main content Skip to footer
Kevin and Lynn Stanberry Receive SoCon Distinguished Service Award

Kevin and Lynn Stansberry with Catamount baseball player Stephen Notaro.

May 31, 2011

Link to previous Southern Conference Distinguished Award Recepients

Charleston, S.C. - Strong supporters of Western Carolina athletics, local business owners Kevin and Lynn Stanberry are two of the 12 recipients of the Southern Conference's 2011 Distinguished Award to be presented on Wednesday, June 1 at the SoCon Honors Dinner in Charleston.

Each member institution selects an honoree based on that person's contribution to the institution.

Members of the Catamount Club since 1998, the Stanberry's join previous WCU honorees in Steve White (2010); Norman A. West (2009); Ted Phillips, Jr., and Avis A. Phillips (2008); Tobe Childers (2007); Dale and Diane Hollifield (2006); Dr. Robert Failing (2005); John Larry Stanberry (2004); Dr. Wallace N. Hyde (2003)

A two-time Catamount Club Board of Director, Kevin Stanberry is the co-owner of Stanberry Insurance and member of the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce. He has been an ambassador for Western Carolina University in the local community and has been involved in numerous membership initiatives that have resulted in record-breaking annual fundraising in support of Catamount Athletics. As owner/operator of O'Malley's of Sylva, Lynn Stanberry has been the driving force to the pre-game donor reception, "The Purple Zone," which has been integral to doubling membership in the Catamount Club since June 2009. O'Malley's has also served as the host site of the Catamount Coaches' Luncheons over the past two years.

The Distinguished Service Award program was started in 2002 as a way for the Southern Conference to recognize those individuals from its member institutions who have contributed to all aspects of the university. This year's honorees include Mark Harrill (Appalachian State), Tomi Youngblood (College of Charleston), Jesse B. Jackson (The Citadel), Ben T. Vernon, Jr. (Davidson), Dr. and Mrs. W. Bryan Latham (Elon), Ray and Pat Ballew (Furman), Ted S. Smith (Georgia Southern), Lynne Agee (UNCG), Michael Rice (Samford), J. Lewis Card, Jr. (Chattanooga), Kevin and Lynn Stanberry (Western Carolina) and Harry Pinkney Williams, Jr. (Wofford).