Skip to main content Skip to footer
Pair of WCU Alum Inducted into Respective Halls of Fame

May 20, 2010

Cullowhee, N.C. - Former Western Carolina two-sport standout Wayne Tolleson and former Catamount football player Joe Miller are both to be inducted into separate Halls of Fame. Tolleson will be enshrined in the South Carolina Athletics Hall of Fame on May 24 while Miller, who has over 30 years experience as a high school athletics administrator and coach, was inducted into the Greater Wilmington Sports Hall back on May 2.

It was announced back in December, 2009 that Tolleson would be inducted into the 50th-anniversary class of the 2010 South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame. Tolleson is among a class of eight inductees which runs the gamut from football, basketball and baseball stars to swimming and tennis. The ceremony is scheduled for Monday, May 24 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center.

Tolleson, who played at Western Carolina from 1974 through 1978, starred at Spartanburg High School - where he had his jersey retired - and for the Catamounts in baseball and football. He also played 10 years of major league baseball.

Wayne Tolleson Inducted into South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame

South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame

Miller, a native of Wilmington, N.C., will retire as the athletic director over all of the New Hanover County schools this August. Nicknamed "the Machine," while in Cullowhee during the 1960s, Miller has spent the past 30 years in secondary education working as a coach and administrator at New Hanover High for 20 years. He was a nine-time high school conference coach of the year, also garnering the plaudits in the region in 1987.

Miller continues to be a generous contributor to WCU Athletics.

Miller was joined by surfer Ben Bourgeois, East Carolina athletic director Terry Holland and former boxer Sherriedale Morgan, who garners the award posthumously.

Greater Wilmington Sports Hall of Fame

Another former Catamount football standout, Clyde Simmons, is also in the Greater Wilmington Hall of Fame which has inducted five classes since 2006.