Skip to main content Skip to footer
Western Carolina's Gibbs Knotts Named to NCAA Honors Committee

April 27, 2005

Cullowhee, N.C. - The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has approved the Southern Conference's nomination of Dr. Gibbs Knotts, the Faculty Athletics Representative at Western Carolina University, to serve on the NCAA's Honors Committee.

With Knotts selection to the Honors Committee, the Southern Conference currently has 21 representatives with chairs on 23 National committees.

The NCAA Honors Committee consists of eight members, including one from each division and subdivision of Division I athletics of the NCAA. It also includes three nationally distinguished citizens (NDC), one of which must be a former NCAA honors recipient.

The committee is responsible for receiving nominations and determining the winners of the prestigious awards that are given at the annual NCAA Honors Dinner, which is a part of the Association's January convention. The awards include special occasion honors such as the Inspiration Award, given to reward inspirational action occurring in the calendar year prior to the banquet, and the Award of Valor, which is based upon heroic action during the same time frame.

Annual awards selected by the committee include the Silver Anniversary Awards which recognize six distinguished former student-athletes on their 25th anniversary as college graduates and the Today's Top VIII Awards honoring eight outstanding senior student-athletes. The highest award bestowed by the Honors Committee is the Theodore Roosevelt Award which is presented each year to a distinguished citizen of national reputation and outstanding accomplishment that was a varsity letter-winner in college.

In addition to serving as the faculty representative to Catamount athletics, Knotts is an assistant professor in Western's Department of Political Science and Public Affairs. He also directs WCU's Masters of Public Affairs program through the University's Graduate School. Knotts is a graduate of the University of North Carolina, with both his Masters and PhD obtained from Emory University in Atlanta, Ga.