Skip to main content Skip to footer
A-Cat-Emy Awards Honors Student-Athletes Tuesday Evening

April 17, 2013

2013 A-Cat-Emy Awards Photo Gallery

CULLOWHEE, N.C.-Western Carolina University's Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) hosted its fifth annual A-Cat-Emy Awards on Tuesday, in the John Bardo Fine Arts and Performing Center Theatre, honoring Catamount student-athletes for their achievements on and off the playing field.

Categories ranged from athletic to academic achievements as well as honoring Catamount teams and head coaches from spring 2012 until winter 2013. The hosts for the event were Western Carolina junior baseball player Taylor Sandefur and senior softball player Morgan Blanton.

A full list is provided below, but here are a few highlighted winners in various categories.

Women's track and field's Jocelyn Keen and men's golf's J.T. Postonwere awarded the highest honors of the night: Female and Male A-Cat-Emy Awards Athletes of the year. In 2012, for which this award honored, Keen won the 800m dash at the 2012 Southern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships and was also a member of the 4x400m relay team that claimed first place. The win at the 800m was Keen's third win of the outdoor season as she had not placed below third all season. She concluded her sophomore season placing sixth in the 800m at the NCAA East Preliminary Round.

Poston, who was also voted Male Rookie of the Year, was named to the 2012 Southern Conference All-Freshman Team after finishing 10th in the Southern Conference Championship. He appeared in all 10 season events as a true freshman, pacing the team in eight tournaments including all five in the spring season, leading the team with a 73.55 stroke average, placing inside the top 10 in four events including a career-best sixth-place finish at the Wolf Pack Intercollegiate (Oct., 2011).

The Female Rookie of the Year was given to women's soccer's Markie Lynn Studnicky. Studnicky was the first Western Carolina women's soccer player in school history to not only be named to the Southern Conference First Team but the So-Con All-Freshmen Team as well. She paced the team with nine goals and was just one goal shy of tying for fifth for most goals in a season. Studnicky's nine goals rank her third in the Southern Conference and the most scored by a Catamount in a single season since 2005. She led the team with a total of 20 points and had two assists.

Miss WCU, which is awarded to a female Western Carolina student-athlete who best represents all aspects of what it means to be a Catamount, was given to sophomore Christine White. A member of the Catamount soccer team, White is the SAAC Vice President and will assume the duties as president for the 2013-14 calendar year.

Mr. WCU was handed out to football player Bevans Robbs. A true team leader and proponent of community service, Robbs coordinated an event to raise money for a person in need in the community in the fall.

The Biggest Victory award was given to women's soccer for its victory at UNCG on September 23, 2012. The 1-0 shutout was just the second time in school history the Catamounts have won in Greensboro. The regular season last win at UNCG was a 1-0 victory on September 27, 2002. Western Carolina had just one shot in the second half, but it was the only shot it needed, as it hit the mark. Senior forward Laura Greb took a pass from freshman Amanda Schwartzbeating UNCG keeper Jamie Simmons sending it into the goal from the right corner.

The Lady Catamount and Catamount Team's of the year were given to women's track and field and men's track and field.

Full List of Winners

Female A-Cat-Emy Athlete of the Year: Jocelyn Keen (women’s track and field)

Male A-Cat-Emy Athlete of the Year: JT Poston (men’s golf)

Female Rookie of the Year: Markie Lynn Studnicky (women’s soccer)

Male Rookie of the Year: TJ Poston (men’s golf)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year: Lindsay Carter

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year: Connor Orr

Biggest Victory: Women’s soccer vs. UNCG

Miss WCU: Chrissie White (women's soccer)

Mr. WCU: Bevans Robbs (football)

Staff Member of the Year: Gorham Bradley

Life-Time Achievement Award: Diane Lynch

Female SAAC Student-Athlete of the Year: Lindsay Simpson

Male SAAC Student-Athlete of the Year: Trey Sumler

SAAC Spotlight Student-Athlete of the Year: Leah Butler (volleyball)/Tawaski King (men’s basketball)

Spirit Team Award: Volleyball

Lady Catamount Coach of the Year: Danny Williamson (women’s track and field)

Catamount Coach of the Year: Mark Speir (football)

Lady Catamount Team of the Year: Women's track and Field

Catamount Team of the Year: Men's Track and Field