June 17, 2013

2013 ABCA All-Atlantic Region First & Second Teams Get Acrobat Reader

Cullowhee, N.C. - Western Carolina's Aaron Attaway and Tyler White were today named to the 2013 All-Atlantic Region teams as voted upon and released by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA). Both of the Catamount infielders were second team selections.

All told, six players from the Southern Conference graced the All-Atlantic Region squads. The Catamount duo was joined by four others from the SoCon including Elon first baseman Ryan Kinsella as the lone representative on the first team. Also on the second team were Joe Jackson, catcher from The Citadel; Appalachian State second baseman Hector Crespo; and UNCG outfielder, Christian Wolfe.

Attaway and White - both of which were first team All-SoCon selections this year - are the 30th and 31st different Catamounts to earn the distinction WCU all-time, and make seven honorees since 2000. WCU has had 38 All-Atlantic overall selections dating back to 1977 including eight individuals with multiple selections.

The two were the only Catamounts to start every game in 2013 with Attaway starting all 59 games at shortstop while White made 56 starts at third base and three at first base where he was a preseason All-SoCon selection. Attaway paced WCU with 27 multiple hit games while White was third with 25. The duo paced the squad with multiple RBI outings including a team-best 20 by White and 14 for Attaway to rank second on the team.

The ABCA All-Atlantic Region honor punctuates the final season of White's four-year career which saw the third baseman earn a pair of All-America honors including third team plaudits from both Collegiate Baseball and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) - just the Catamount all-time to garner the latter.

A product of Forest City, N.C., White batted .363 in 2013, collecting a WCU single-season record 27 doubles - the most among any player honored by the ABCA - to compliment his team-leading 16 home runs. He tallied 91 hits to rank second in the SoCon this season and was third among the 19 position players named All-Atlantic Region.

White, who was drafted by the Houston Astros with the first pick of the 33rd round (977th overall pick), reported to extended spring training minicamp in Kissimmee, Fla., before receiving his team assignment.

Junior SS Aaron Attaway was named to the ABCA All-Atlantic Region team on Monday. (Photo by Todd Drexler,

Attaway finished the 2013 season ranked in the top 10 of eight different offensive categories in the SoCon including leading the league with 97 hits and 68 runs scored. Additionally, his 97 hits were tied for the most among the 19 position players honored by the ABCA. The junior batted .363 on the season and posted a .592 slugging percentage, 10th in the SoCon's final rankings. Attaway finished the season with 15 doubles, five triples and 12 home runs - all single-season career highs.

Attaway's name appeared on the watch list much of the season the Brooks Wallace Award given to the nation's top shortstop, and in mid-May, the Morganton, N.C., native was named a semifinalist for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations and given to the top player in collegiate baseball.

Attaway is one of five Catamount players playing for the San Luis Obispo Blues of the California Collegiate League this summer. He will return for his senior season in 2014 for WCU.

WCU's All-Time, All-Atlantic Region Selections
1977 - Keith Ebersole (1st), Jerry Reed (2nd), Wayne Tolleson (2nd)
1978 - Wayne Tolleson (1st), Keith Ebersole (2nd)
1980 - Willie Carpenter (1st)
1986 - Pat Riley (2nd)
1987 - Clint Fairey (1st)
1989 - Clint Fairey (1st)
1990 - Grant Brittain (1st)
1991 - Kevin Bellomo (1st), Phillip Grundy (2nd), Matt Raleigh (2nd)
1992 - Joey Cox (1st), Matt Raleigh (1st), Dan Kyslinger (2nd)
1993 - Phillip Grundy (1st), Jason Beverlin (2nd)
1994 - Jason Beverlin (1st), Mike Manning (2nd), Mike Tidick (2nd)
1995 - Jody Henson (1st)
1996 - Alex Tolbert (2nd)
1997 - Alex Tolbert (1st), Jeremy Bruce (2nd), J.P. Burwell (2nd)
1998 - Martin Barrow (2nd), Mark DiFelice (2nd)
1999 - Steve Harris (2nd), Chris Moore (2nd)
2001 - Donovan Minero (1st)
2003 - Alan Beck (2nd)
2004 - Jared Greenwood (1st)
2005 - Steven Strausbaugh (2nd)
2006 - Steven Strausbaugh (2nd)
2007 - Kenny Smith (2nd)
2012 - Ross Heffley (2nd)
2013 - Aaron Attaway (2nd), Tyler White (2nd)