Morganton, N.C. – The Western Carolina women’s golf team carded a second round score of 330 to finish the Mimosa Hills Intercollegiate with a two-day tally of 651, placing eighth overall in the penultimate event of the 2018-19 season. Junior Brianna Plummer led the Catamounts in a tie for 25th-place.

Plummer followed her opening round 76 with a final round score of 84 for a two-day total of 160, slipping 19 spots into the tie for 25th on Monday. Sophomore Maya White held her position on the second day, knocking one stroke off her opening-day 81 by shooting 80 on Monday for a total of 161.

Sophomore Hazel Martin slid 11 spots in the final leaderboard in 38th overall while senior Shannon Heerey and sophomore Harper Gilreath fishing tie for 40th, Gilreath advancing three places

Elon overtook first-round leader Longwood and pulled away over the final 18 holes, winning the team title by 13 strokes, 609-to-622. Gardner-Webb climbed two spots into third at 623 with Elon’s “B” team and host Appalachian State finishing the 36-hole event tied for fourth with matching scores of 625.

Elon’s Adel Vadkerti claimed individual medalist honors, following her 1-under round of 71 with a second-round 1-over par, 73, to shoot even-par 144 for the event. Wofford’s Becca Earl and Linnea Hofgren of Gardner-Webb shared the runner-up spot, three strokes off the pace at 147.

Western Carolina now turns its attention to the conference-champion crowning tournament with the 2019 Southern Conference Women’s Golf Championship scheduled for April 14-16 at the Moss Creek golf Club in Hilton Head Island, S.C. The practice round is slated for Saturday, April 13 with the 54-hole tournament to include 18 holes per day over three-consecutive days with the winning team garnering the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA postseason. Live scoring is scheduled to be available online through


8th – Western Carolina – 321-330 = 651

T25th – Brianna Plummer – 76-84 = 160

T29th – Maya White – 81-80 = 161

38th – Hazel Martin – 80-84 = 164

T40th – Shannon Heerey – 84-84 = 168

T40th – Harper Gilreath – 86-82 = 168